Genealogy guide

Once you have found the geographical location of the information you are looking for, try consulting My Heritage (formerly known as WorldVitalRecords) to determine where and how to get specific records.

A well-known gateway with links to thousands of genealogy sites on the internet. The site is free, but contains links to fee-based sites.

This site searches immigration records from the port of entry of many Americans' ancestors. This site is prone to variant spellings and other problems; however, it still offers a means to find out where and with whom your ancestors crossed the Atlantic.

The Hayes Presidential Library Center offers a searchable index of obituaries from newspapers from throughout Ohio, from the 1810s to the present day. More than 3.5 million records are indexed. There is no fee to use the index, but there is a nominal charge for copies of the obituaries.

Selected online and searchable resources from the National Archives.

This U. S. government database provides image access to more than five million federal land title records issued between 1820 and the present. Due to organization of documents in the General Land Office collection, this site does not currently contain every federal title record issued for the Public Land States. Certified copies of land patents can be requested, for official documentation.

The Ohio History Connection offers this guide to searching for and obtaining copies of Ohio death certificates.

This is a gateway site, with a busy listserv for asking and answering questions. Links to volunteer lookups, and numerous message boards.

This is a free site staffed by volunteers working together to provide internet genealogical research in every county and state in the U. S. Some areas of the project are more complete than others. Many WPA records have been made available online through this project.

96 S. Grant Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-645-2275

The genealogy collection housed on the third floor in the Genealogy, History and Travel Division of the Columbus Metropolitan Library is one of the largest collections of genealogical resources in the United States. Since 2007, the collection has grown to include the genealogy collections of the State Library of Ohio, the Palatines to America Society, and the Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society. The library's collection includes indexes and transcriptions of census, vital, military, court and other records, as well as state, county, and local histories, family histories, surname files, maps and atlases and more.

2690 Stratford Rd.
Delaware, Ohio 43015
740-369-3831

The Delaware County Historical Society is the county-wide historical society dedicated to preserving, promoting, and educating about Delaware County history. The Cryder Historical Center and Research Library and the Nash House Museum is located at 157 E. William St., Delaware, Ohio 43015.

Delaware County District Library
84 East Winter St.
Delaware, Ohio 43015
740-369-4375

The Delaware County Genealogical Society offers records from cemeteries, the Civil War, government, court records and more.

96 S. Grant Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43215
614-849-1239

Note: The Franklin County Genealogical & Historical Society's office is housed in the Columbus Metropolitan Library's Genealogy, History and Travel Division.

800 E. 17th Ave.
Columbus, OH 43211
614-297-2300

The Ohio History Connection houses a wealth of resources valuable to the genealogical researcher, including city directories, muster rolls, letters, death records, land records, military records and county and state records. For those beginning their research, the Ohio History Connection also offers genealogical workshops, in cooperation with the Columbus Metropolitan Library and the Franklin County Genealogical and Historical Society.

A forum for those new to the field of genetic genealogy, this resource from the International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG) offers answers to basic questions, information about the different testing companies available, DNA lessons and helpful diagrams.

This DNA ancestry service provides ancestry-related genetic reports and uninterpreted raw genetic data.

African Ancestry uses the world’s largest database of African DNA lineages to determine your country and ethnic group of origin, all with a simple swab of your cheek.

AncestryDNA (from Ancestry.com) will explain and help you choose a mitochondrial mtDNA or Y-chromosome lineage test and find leads based on DNA testing, surnames, geography and haplogroups.

Offers Y-chromosome, mtDNA, combined y chromosome and mtDNA tests, XSTR DNA tests for males and females and other specialty testing services.

This company offers maternal, paternal and combo ancestry packages and many search and analysis features.

This database is interactive and allows the user the search for Y-STR haplotypes in various formats and within specified metapopulations.

Founded in 2005 by DNA project administrators, The International Society of Genetic Genealogy (ISOGG) exists to advocate for and educate about the use of genetics as a tool for genealogical research, and promote a supportive network for genetic genealogists. Their website contains helpful information for both beginning and advanced genetic genealogists.

This blog examines the intersection of traditional genealogical techniques and modern genetic research and explores the latest news and developments in the related field of personal genomics.